top of page
New Commission

Testimonials

Herauszoomen

„Ich möchte mich auf dem Zoom-Bildschirm treffen, wo die Leute in das nächste Rechteck greifen und ihre Ellbogen dort ablegen oder die Person neben ihnen berühren können.  Das sind wirklich wundervolle Gemälde.“
 

Steve Seidel,Senior Lecturer Director, Arts in Education
Senior Research Associate, Project Zero
Pädagogische Fakultät der Harvard University

Kommission Leopoldina en el Oro - 2017

 "Das Gemälde ist herzzerreißend schön! Die Gegenüberstellung zwischen dem Schimmer ihres goldenen Kleides und die Traurigkeit/Stille ihres Gesichts ist erstaunlich."    


Shari Tischman, Ed.D. Dozent, Harvard-Absolvent, School of Education

 Direktor, Projekt NullKunst im Bildungsprogrammim Harvard Project Zero

Walter quote We Are Not Privy

"Ich habe mehrereMiller-Havens-Stücke. Der weite Bogen ihrer Arbeit ist atemberaubend und ein Beweis für ihr Interesse und ihre Bewunderung für die Welt um sie herum. Tun Sie sich selbst einen Gefallen und holen Sie sich eine Arbeit, um Ihren  zu ehrenZuhause - je länger du es hast, desto mehr wirst du es lieben."

Dorothy Walter, 2016 - Kunstsammler, Colorado

Martinez acclaim

„Je mehr wir über Malerei diskutierten, desto mehr empfanden wir eine Affinität und gegenseitige Wertschätzung dafür, wie sehr unsere jeweiligen Talente aus unseren Fingern flossen.  Ich liebte das Gemälde mit dem Titel El Orgullo y la Determinación („Stolz und Entschlossenheit“).

„Susans Malerei birgt ein Geheimnis, eine weichere Seite von mir blieb verborgen, wie Susans Blumen. Hinter jedem Big-League-Werfer steht die echte Person, jeder mit seiner eigenen Geschichte über Widerstandsfähigkeit und ein Angebot der Hoffnung."

Pedro Martínez, HOF Krug, 2015 

Fisk acclaim

„Susans Arbeit ist wirklich erstaunlich.

Ich fühle mich noch einmal geehrt, dass eines der Porträts, die sie von mir gemalt hat, gewesen ist zur Installation ausgewählt in."

Carlton Fisk, HOF Catcher, 6. November 2014

Das Nationale Kunstmuseum des Sports

„Sie ist eine der ganz wenigen Künstlerinnen, die in die Seele ihres Themas eindringt und diesen Aspekt auf der Leinwand zum Leben erweckt … bemerkenswert.“

Pat RileyPräsident Miami HEAT, Schirmherr von Miller-Havens

Alive still life acclaim

„Sport als Thema in der zeitgenössischen Malerei ist kaum ein Unbekannter, aber er fördert allgemein Bilder von äußerster Banalität und Vulgarität. Von diesem Ort aus sind zwischen Miller-Havens viele Welten entfernt. Ihre neue Arbeit ist pointiert, pointiert, eindringlich. Sie nimmt es einfach Form wie eine Catcher-Maske oder einen Baseball-Handschuh und malt sie mit Wissen und Liebe, so dass sie gleichzeitig eine starke Ikone und ein bescheidenes Objekt ist -- weil sie beides schön ist und das ihre Gabe ist jenseits des Genres, weil sie eine hervorragende Lektorin und Erfinderin ist."


James Wilson Rayen, Elizabeth Christy Kopf Professorin für Kunst, Wellesley College

 „Was für eine beeindruckende Sammlung.  Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob ich so einfach sein werde wie „Pudge“, aber ich kann es kaum erwarten, das fertige Produkt zu sehen.  Die meiste Arbeit, die ich bei Baseballspielern gesehen habe, hat einen völlig anderen Stil.

Wenn das erledigt ist, werde ich es auf jeden Fall zeigen, und da alle Athleten gerne auf sich selbst schauen,   yDu wirst sie mit einem Stock abschlagen.“

Mike Matheny, 30. Juni 2000

 

"Vielen Dank für die freundliche Nachricht. Es ist schön, von Ihnen zu hören, und ich hoffe, alles ist gut. Ich sehe Herrn P. oft und denke auch an Sie, wenn ich das tolle Gemälde sehe, das Sie gemacht haben und das in meiner Wohnung ausgestellt ist. Beste Wünsche und Gottes Segen."

Mike Matheny, 2. April 2015

Matheny acclaim
Women's Best Friends News

„Der Künstler malt die meisten dieser Porträts von hinten, wo die hängende Schulter einer Frau oder die Aufmerksamkeit in der aufmerksamen Haltung eines Hundes Bände über die Bindungen einer geschätzten Beziehung sprechen können. Der Künstler schwelgt in der Farbe Weiß und balanciert unzählige subtile Schattierungen aus sowohl in der Kleidung als auch im Fell des Hundes. Die Porträts stehen vor einem Hintergrund in sanftem Grau, der diese Beziehungen aus dem Zeitlichen drängt und eine Verbindung suggeriert, die zeitlos und dauerhaft ist.


Mary Jo Palumbo,Kunstreporter, Zeitung Boston Herald
Für das ARTnews Magazin, New York City

"Der Künstler malt die meisten dieser Porträts aus dem Werk von Miller-Havens, das es dem Betrachter ermöglicht, direkt an der dargestellten Aktion teilzunehmen, indem er diese Aktion visuell isoliert und an der Fülle der gestisch gemalten Markierung teilnimmt."


Douglas Hilton, Professor für Kunst, Hofstra Museum Hofstra University

„Wenn Sie Kunst und Sport mögen, besuchen Sie die Website von Susan Miller-Havens (millerhavens.com). Die in Boston lebende Künstlerin hat eine Reihe brillanter Auftragsporträts angefertigt, darunter eines, das das Smithsonian Institute zu kaufen versucht.“

Peter Gammons, ESPN, September 2000
Co-Spender (mit Gloria Gammons) von Martinez Portrait an die National Portrait Gallery 2011

„Susan Miller-Havens behandelt in ihren Ölgemälden mehrere wichtige Themen, insbesondere die Darstellung der meist isolierten Figur als männlicher Athlet in einem Kontext, der die Spezifika von Zeit, Ort und kommerzieller Trivialisierung überschreitet. Die Darstellung des männlichen Athleten im Sinne von Ästhetische Schönheit erreichte das Erhabene in der Skulptur des antiken Griechenlands, wie sie von männlichen Künstlern geschaffen wurde. Miller-Havens versucht, diesem Thema eine neue Stimme zu verleihen, indem er den zeitgenössischen männlichen Athleten auf einer zweidimensionalen Ebene mit einer Perspektive des 20. Jahrhunderts betrachtet, während sie gegenständliche und abstrakte künstlerische Anliegen erforscht. Sie arbeitet darauf hin, beim Betrachter ein Gefühl von Mehrdeutigkeit, Zeitlosigkeit und ein Gefühl der menschlichen Verbundenheit mit dem Gemälde zu wecken. Dies führt dazu, dass die vom einzelnen Ballspieler vorgeschlagenen Besonderheiten überschritten werden.


Sydney L. Waller, Co-Kuratorin „Diamonds Are Forever“
eine international tourende Ausstellung
Das Wanderausstellungsprogramm der Smithsonian Institution
Kunstverwalter der New York State Historical Association

"Ich kann nicht glauben, wie wunderbar Sie den "Pudel selbst" und unsere enge Beziehung eingefangen haben. Die Serie (Women's Best Friends) als Ganzes ist unglaublich berührend und spricht lautstark von einer Art Freundschaft, die ist kaum zu beschreiben."

Claudia Logan, Autor und Modell für diese Serie

„Susan Miller-Havens fängt die heroischen Qualitäten all ihrer Porträts und Figurenstudien mit einer Palette ein, die die subtilsten Farbkombinationen umfasst.die Essenz des Heldentums in ihren Untertanen."


Richard A. Johnson, Kurator des Sports Museum of New England

#6 wbf acclaim

„Ich habe ein Gemälde gefunden, Nr. 6 [aus der Women’s Best Friend-Serie], das ich für absolut umwerfend halte. Selbst wenn ich es in den breitesten und formellsten „Kunstbegriffen“ analysiere, die ich kenne, hält es sich wunderbar "Ich bin ziemlich voreingenommen. Ich finde es bezaubernder als die meisten zeitgenössischen Arbeiten, die ich mir in letzter Zeit angesehen habe. Ich sehe es als figuratives Gemälde mit unterschiedlichen psychologischen Interpretationen, während ich es gleichzeitig als interessant lesen kann." abstraktes Stück."


Fay Chandler, Künstler, 
Gründer, The Art Connection, Boston

„In Ihren Bildern steckt so viel Leben: Bewegung, Emotion, die Traurigkeit der verlorenen Jugend und die Freude des Wiedererkennens. Ich kann Ihnen nicht sagen, wie viel ich in ihnen sehe, oder ich bin erstaunt darüber, dass Sie Motive auswählen, die Frauen nicht verstehen und machen sollten wir alle verstehen sie besser. Wirklich erstaunliche Arbeit. Das einzige andere Mal, als ich ein Gemälde sah und Tränen in den Augen hatte, war, als ich Guernica in Madrid sah.

 

Alan R. Spievack, MD Schirmherr
Gründer, Vice President und Director of Technology, ACELL, INC.
Forscher in der Technologie der regenerativen Medizin

bottom of page

ACCLAIM

 

Zooming Out

"I want to meet on the Zoom screen where people can reach into the next rectangle and rest their elbows there or touch the person next to them.  These are really wonderful paintings"
 

Steve Seidel, Senior Lecturer Director, Arts In Education
Senior Research Associate, Project Zero
Harvard University School of Education

Commission Leopoldina en el Oro - 2017

 "The painting is heart-achingly beautiful!  The juxtaposition between the shimmer of her gold dress and the sad/stillness of her face is amazing."    


Shari Tishman, Ed.D. Lecturer, Harvard Graduate, School of Education

 Director, Project ZeroArts in Education Program at Harvard Project Zero

 

"I have several Miller-Havens pieces. The wide arc of her work is stunning and a testament to her interest and wonder of the world around her. Do yourself a favor and pick up a work to grace your home - the longer you have it, the more you'll love it."

Dorothy Walter, 2016 - Art Collector, Colorado

 

"The more we discussed painting, the more we felt an affinity and mutual appreciation for how much our respective talents flowed from our fingers.  I loved the painting, which is entitled El Orgullo y la Determinación (“Pride and Determination”).

"Susan’s painting holds a secret, a softer side of me stayed hidden, like Susan’s flowers. Behind every big-league pitcher stands the real person, each with his own story to tell of resilience and an offering of hope."

Pedro Martinez, HOF Pitcher, 2015 

 

"Susan's work is truly amazing.

I am honored once again, that one of the portraits she painted of me has been selected for installation in."

Carlton Fisk, HOF Catcher, November 6, 2014

The National Art Museum of Sport

"She is one of the very few artists who gets down into the soul of her subject and brings that aspect to life on canvas ... remarkably so."

Pat RileyPresident Miami HEAT, Miller-Havens Patron

 

"Sport as subject matter in contemporary painting is hardly an unknown, but it commonly encourages images of the utmost banality and vulgarity. From this venue Miller-Havens is many worlds apart. Her new work is trenchant, pointed, haunting. She takes a simple form such as a catcher's mask or a baseball glove and paints it with knowledge and with love so that it is at the same time a potent icon and a humble object -- as both it is beautiful, and that is her gift. Her work is beyond genre because she is a superb editor and inventor."


James Wilson Rayen, Elizabeth Christy Kopf Professor of Art, Wellesley College

 

 "What an impressive collection.  I am not sure that I will be as easy as 'Pudge,' but I can't wait to see the finished product.  Most of the work that I have seen done of baseball players is a totally different style.  

When this gets done, I will be sure to show it off, and since all athletes like looking at themselves,  you will be beating them off with a stick."

Mike Matheny, June 30, 2000

 

"Thank you for the kind message. It is good to hear from you and I hope all is well. I see Mr. P. often and also think of you when I see the terrific painting you did that is displayed in my home. Best wishes and God Bless."

Mike Matheny, April 2, 2015

 

"The artist paints most of these portraits from the back, where the slump of a woman's shoulder or the attentiveness in a dog's alert stance can speak volumes about the bonds of a cherished relationship. The artist luxuriates in the color white, balancing myriad subtle shades in both the clothing and the dog's fur. The portraits are set against a background of soft gray, thrusting these relationships out of the temporal and suggesting a connection that is timeless and enduring"


Mary Jo Palumbo, Arts Reporter, Boston Herald Newspaper
For ARTnews Magazine, New York City

"The artist paints most of these portraits from the "Miller-Havens work allows the viewer to participate directly in the action portrayed by visually isolating that action and in the richness of the gestural painted mark."


Douglas Hilson, Professor of Art, Hofstra Museum Hofstra University

"If you like art and sports, check the web site for Susan Miller-Havens (millerhavens.com). The Boston-based artist has done a number of brilliant commissioned portraits, including one that the Smithsonian Institute is trying to purchase."

Peter Gammons, ESPN, September 2000
Co-Donor (with Gloria Gammons) of Martinez Portrait to The National Portrait Gallery 2011

"Susan Miller-Havens addresses in her oil paintings several important themes, most especially the depiction of the usually isolated figure as male athlete in a context that transcends the specifics of time, place and commercial trivialization. The depiction of the male athlete in terms of aesthetic beauty achieved the sublime in the sculpture of ancient Greece as created by male artists. Miller-Havens seeks to add a new voice to this subject-matter, looking at the contemporary male athlete on a two dimensional plane, with a 20th century perspective, while exploring representational and abstract artistic concerns. She works toward stirring in the viewer a sense of ambiguity, timelessness and a feeling of human connection with the painting. This results in transcending specifics suggested by the individual ball player."


Sydney L. Waller, Co-curator "Diamonds Are Forever,"
an internationally-touring exhibition
The Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Program
Arts Administrator, The New York State Historical Association

"I cannot believe how wonderfully you captured the "poodle himself" as well as our close relationship. The Series (Women's Best Friends) as a whole is incredibly touching and speaks loudly about a kind of friendship that is nearly impossible to describe."

Claudia Logan, Author and Model For This Series

 

"Susan Miller-Havens captures the heroic qualities in all her portraits and figure studies with a palette that includes the most subtle of color combinations. Her paintings are as much about the magic of color as the essence of heroism in her subjects."


Richard A. Johnson, Curator, The Sports Museum of New England

"I found one painting, # 6 [of the Women's Best Friend Series], in particular that I consider to be absolutely stunning. Even when I analyze it in the broadest and most formal "art terms" that I know, it holds up beautifully. I've become quite prejudiced. I think it's more enchanting than most contemporary work that I've looked at recently. I see it as a figurative painting with different psychological interpretations while, at the same time, I can read it as an interesting abstract piece."


Fay Chandler, Artist, 
Founder, The Art Connection, Boston

"There is such life in your paintings: motion, emotion,the sadness of lost youth and the joy of recognition. I cannot tell you how much I see in them or am amazed by your picking subjects which women are not supposed to understand and making us all understand them better. Truly amazing work. The only other time I saw a painting and had tears in my eyes was when I saw Guernica in Madrid"

 

Alan R. Spievack, M.D. Patron
Founder, Vice President and Director of Technology, ACELL, INC.
Researchers in regenerative medicine technology